HUGOT

Hugotavocats

[ OUR TEAM ]

Jean-Philippe Hugot

Jean-Philippe Hugot

Jean-Philippe Hugot
Founding Partner of the firm, 2003
Admitted to the Paris Bar since 1998
Registered with the New York Bar as a legal consultant
Languages: French and English

Jean-Philippe’s practice is principally focused on civil and criminal litigation. He regularly advises French and international clients in the areas of art, publishing, media, luxury, fashion and the internet.

With multiple years of experience as a criminal defense lawyer, he has developed highly specialized expertise in criminal law related to information technology and white-collar crime. He draws the necessary resources from his judicial expertise to advise clients on an ongoing basis on their business matters (negotiations, drafting and reviewing contracts).

He has also developed recognized expertise in the field of art law, having managed the estates of several artists.

Jean-Philippe Hugot began his career with the well-known French criminal lawyer, Olivier Metzner, and then joined a business law firm where he practiced intellectual property law in various sectors, including media, film and the internet.

 

Practice Areas

Copyright Law, Trademark Law, Patent and Design Protection, Internet Law, Unfair Competition, Criminal Law, White-Collar Criminal Law, Business Law, Press Law.

Education

LL.M, New York University
Post-graduate master degree (DEA), University of Paris II: Media Law
Post-graduate master degree (DESS), University of Paris XI: Law of New Technologies

HUGOT

Hugotavocats

[ NOTRE ÉQUIPE ]

Jean-Philippe Hugot

Jean-Philippe Hugot

Associé fondateur du cabinet, 2003
Avocat au barreau de Paris depuis 1998
Inscrit au barreau de New York en qualité de legal consultant.
Français et anglais

L’activité de Jean-Philippe est orientée majoritairement vers le contentieux de nature civile et pénale. Il conseille au quotidien des clients français et internationaux intervenant dans les secteurs de l’art, de l’édition, des médias, du luxe, de la mode et de l’internet.

Grâce à ses années d’expérience en tant que pénaliste, il a développé une expertise toute particulière en droit pénal des technologies de l’information et en droit pénal des affaires. Il puise dans son expertise judiciaire les ressources nécessaires pour conseiller au quotidien ses clients dans leur vie économique (négociation, rédaction et revue de contrat).

Il a également développé une expertise reconnue dans le secteur de l’art notamment grâce à la gestion de plusieurs successions d’artistes.

Jean-Philippe Hugot a débuté sa carrière chez Olivier Metzner puis a exercé dans un cabinet d’affaires où il pratiquait le droit de la propriété intellectuelle sur divers secteurs comme les médias, le cinéma, l’internet.

Compétences détaillées

Droit d’auteur, droit des marques, droit des dessins et modèles, droit de l’internet, concurrence déloyale, droit pénal, droit pénal des affaires, droit commercial, droit de la presse.

Formation universitaire

LL.M, New York University
DEA, Paris II : droit de la communication des médias
DESS, Paris XI : droit des nouvelles technologies